Over 600 students, family members and teachers attend Mayo GAA Career Fair 2018

Over 600 students, parents and teachers attended the Mayo GAA Career Fair 2018 in the McWilliam Park Hotel, Claremorris.

The event was organised by the South Mayo GAA board and the Mayo GAA Coaching Committee, with financial support from St Jarlath’s Credit Union, Tuam; Claremorris/Ballinrobe Credit Union; and South West Mayo Development Company’s Social Inclusion and Community Activation Programme.

“This was our second year running the event, and it was a huge success. The crowd was even bigger than last year. We will stage the event again next year and will announce the exact date in the coming weeks ,” said John Farragher, chairman, South Mayo GAA board.

Large numbers of students and families availed of the opportunity to explore career opportunities. The event was targeted at senior cycle and pre-senior cycle students and their families.

“The range of speakers on the day proved very popular – we had EY Entrepreneur of the Year Harry Hughes; Mayo ladies football star and PhD student Fiona McHale; Occupational Therapy student Sarah Farragher; and teenage entrepreneur Harry McCann,” said Padraic Carolan, a member of the organising committee.
“Additionally, there were workshops with the ESB on apprenticeships and Paula Ballester Murat on making a good
career choice.”
The purpose of the event was to arm students and families with key information on the options available to them upon completing second-level education. Admission was free of charge.

Stands from leading CAO universities and colleges afforded students the opportunity to ask key questions about those institutions, entry requirements and employment possibilities. Non-college options were also presented.

The Social Inclusion and Community Activation Programme (SICAP) 2015-2017 is funded by the Irish Government and co-funded by the European Social Fund and includes a special allocation under the Youth Employment Initiative. For further information, please visit the Pobal Website  www.pobal.ie. The support of the South West Mayo Development Company Ltd is also acknowledged.
The organising committee comprises John Farragher, Kieran Kilkenny, Liam Horan, Padraic Carolan, TJ Kelly, Michael King, Shane Halligan, Paula Ballester Murat, Breege Kelly and Colm Govin.